Queen's Golden Jubilee Medal

In 2002, the Government of Alberta established the Queen Elizabeth II Golden Jubilee Citizenship Medal and the Premier's Citizenship Award to mark the 50th anniversary of the accession to the throne of Queen Elizabeth II.

When Her Majesty celebrated her Golden Jubilee, she expressed that it be an occasion to honour those who had contributed to their communities through public service and voluntary endeavour.

The Queen Elizabeth II Golden Jubilee Citizenship Medal recognizes outstanding citizenship, leadership, community service and volunteerism. Eight young Albertans receive the medal each year. Recipients are selected from among the Alberta high school students who receive the Premier's Citizenship Award that year.

Every Alberta high school may nominate one student each year to receive the Premier's Award. Medal recipients are chosen by a selection committee of Albertans who are themselves outstanding citizens, volunteers and community members.

The award includes a letter of congratulations from the Minister of Culture and Tourism, a cheque of $5,000 and an letter of commendation presented by the Lieutenant Governor.

The award program is operated in partnership between Alberta Culture and Tourism and Advanced Education.


Visit Premier's Citizenship Award for nomination information. Deadline to apply is June 1, of every year.

2016-17 Recipients

  • Blaine Badiuk from Grande Prairie
  • Brandon Bosma from Sherwood Park
  • Poshika Dhingra from Red Deer
  • Chu Qian Li from Calgary
  • Andrew Min from Calgary
  • Srishti Shrivastav from Calgary
  • Emily Vilcsak from St. Albert
  • Emilie Xiao from Calgary

Read More on the medal recipients.

Last reviewed/revised: July 24, 2017
Share this page on: